When and where to watch football around San Antonio, TX

Alamodome | @utsaathletics

The countdown to kickoff for college + NFL football is on, and we’ve got the 411 on when and where to catch all the action around Austin. 🏈 

The University of Texas at San Antonio will head to the University of Illinois for their season opener on Sat., Sept. 4.

The Dallas Cowboys will head to Raymond James Stadium on Thurs., Sept. 9 to play the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

While the Houston Texans won’t have their first game until Sun., Sept. 12 versus the Jacksonville Jaguars, it’s still perfectly acceptable to begin planning out your game days in San Antonio

Fun facts about Texas teams 

  • According to Finance Buzz, Texans and Cowboys fans spend an average of $169.95 and $147.68 on food and drink (excluding alcohol) during their home games — the highest amount spent across all NFL team fan bases on game day. 
  • The Texans have the fifteenth most difficult schedule this season and the Cowboys have the thirty-first most difficult schedule out of all NFL teams, according to the CBS Sports schedule rankings
  • Rivalry, anyone? The Cowboys-Texans rivalry officially began in 1965 (formerly the Houston Oilers) and was played for a trophy called the Governor’s Cup. Since the Houston Texans became a team in 2002, the Cowboys lead the Texans 3–2 in the all time series. 
  • The Big Ten, ACC + Big 12 have all announced that there will be no rescheduling for any games this season because of COVID-19. If a team cannot field a full squad, they will be forced to forfeit the match. 

Houston Texans

🗓️Home game schedule 

🏈Sun., Sept. 12 — Texans vs. Jacksonville Jaguars
🏈Thurs., Sept. 23 — Texans vs. Carolina Panthers
🏈Sun., Oct. 10 — Texans vs. New England Patriots
🏈Sun., Oct. 31 — Texans vs. Los Angeles Rams
🏈Sun., Nov. 28 — Texans vs. New York Jets
🏈Sun., Dec. 5 — Texans vs. Indianapolis Colts
🏈Sat., Dec. 12 — Texans vs. Seattle Seahawks
🏈Sun., Dec. 26 — Texans vs. Los Angeles Chargers
🏈Sun., Jan. 9 — Texans vs. Tennessee Titans

🎟️Tickets: There are three main ticket options — Season Tickets, Single Game tickets, and Group Seating tickets. Prices start at $60 for select single games. The ticket office is located at Two NRG Park Houston, TX. 

Dallas Cowboys

🗓️Home game schedule

🏈Sun., Sept. 27 — Cowboys vs. Philadelphia Eagles
🏈Sun., Oct. 3 — Cowboys vs. Carolina Panthers
🏈Sun., Oct. 10 — Cowboys vs. New York Giants
🏈Sun., Nov. 7 — Cowboys vs. Denver Broncos
🏈Sun., Nov. 14 — Cowboys vs. Atlanta Falcons
🏈Thurs., Nov. 25 — Cowboys vs. Las Vegas Raiders
🏈Sun., Dec. 26 — Cowboys vs. Washington Football Team
🏈Sun., Jan. 2 — Cowboys vs. Arizona Cardinals

🎟️Tickets: There are four main ticket options — Season Tickets, Single Game tickets, Luxury Suite tickets, and Standing Room Only tickets. Prices start at $45 for select single games. The ticket office is located at One AT&T Way, Arlington, TX . 

University of Texas at San Antonio

🗓️Home game schedule

🏈Sat., Sept. 11 — UTSA vs. Lamar
🏈Sat., Sept. 18 — UTSA vs. Middle Tennessee
🏈Sat., Oct. 2 — UTSA vs. UNLV
🏈Sat., Oct. 16 — UTSA vs. Rice | Homecoming
🏈Sat., Nov. 13 — UTSA vs. Southern Miss
🏈Sat., Nov. 20 — UTSA vs. UAB

🎟️Tickets: You can buy tickets online, with prices starting at $10 for select single games. The ticket office is located at 2139 San Jacinto Blvd.

Where to watch Texans, Cowboys + Roadrunners games in San Antonio

🍺Southtown 101 | 101 Pereida St.
🍺Bar America | 723 S. Alamo St.
🍺The Friendly Spot | 943 S. Alamo St.
🍺Francis Bogside 803 S. St Mary’s St.
🍺Maddy McMurphy’s Irish Sports Bar | 420 E. Houston St.
🍺Smoke BBQ+SKYBAR | 501 E. Crockett St.
🍺The Hangar | 8203 Broadway
🍺Freetail Brewing | 403 N. Loop 1604 W.

Know of a Texans, Cowboys, or Roadrunners bar that’s not mentioned above? We’d love to add it to our list. Email us with your favorite spot to spend gameday in San Antonio.

Happy football season, San Antonio — don’t forget to tag us in all of your game day photos + videos using @satxtoday or #satxtoday. 📸